

EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE

Report to Academic Council at its meeting of November 19, 2013

FOR ACTION

1. Academic Council Teaching Faculty Nominations

The Executive Committee recommends:

That Academic Council appoint the following faculty members to serve as elected members of Academic Council for three year terms to 2015-16:

a) Faculty Representatives

Wally Bartfay, Associate Professor, Faculty of Health Sciences Franco Gaspari, Associate Professor, Faculty of Science

b) "At Large" Representatives

Christopher Collins, Assistant Professor, Faculty of Science

2. Academic Council Student Nominations

The Executive Committee recommends:

That Academic Council appoint the following students to serve as elected members of Academic Council and its committees for two year terms to 2014-15:

a) Graduate Studies Committee

Saeeda Sana (Full-time graduate student)

FOR INFORMATION

3. 2013 UOIT Teaching Awards

The Committee extends its congratulations to the recipients of the 2013 UOIT Teaching Awards:

a) Core Faculty Teaching Award

Diana Petrarca, Assistant Professor, Faculty of Education

b) Complementary Faculty Teaching Award

Josh Lowe, Lecturer, Faculty of Business and Information Technology

c) Teaching Assistant Award

Emily Bremer, Teaching Assistant, Faculty of Health Sciences

There were 11 nominations submitted this year. There were 3 submissions for core faculty: Dr. Diana Petrarca, Dr. Emma Bartfay, Faculty of Health Sciences, Dr. Shahryar Rahnamyan, Faculty of Engineering and Applied Science. There were 5 submissions for complementary faculty: Mr. Josh Lowe, Dr. Eyhab Al-Masri, Faculty of Engineering and Applied Science, Ms. Jennifer Laffier, Faculty of Education, Mr. Simon Wang, Faculty of Health Sciences, and Mr. Yuelie Yang, Faculty of Engineering and Applied Science. There were 3 submissions for Teaching Assistants: Ms. Emily Bremer, Ms. June Melnychuk, Faculty of Business and Information Technology, and Ms. Hira Sohail, Faculty of Science. Each of the nominees provided the committee with teaching portfolios which illustrated the high value teaching has at UOIT and the high level of teaching practices found across campus.

The selection committee for this year's recipients was comprised of: Dr. Andrew Hogue, Faculty of Business and Information Technology, Ms. Janette Hughes, Faculty of Education, Dr. Tarlochan Sidhu, Dean, Faculty of Engineering and Applied Science, and Ms. Marj Rempel, Director, Teaching and Learning Centre.

4. Report of the Joint Taskforce on the Transformation of Learning

The Executive Committee received the final report of the Joint Taskforce on the Transformation of Learning. The report outlined a number of principles to guide the transformation of learning at UOIT. It also provided three recommendations: Establishing a Learning Excellence Committee under the Office of the Provost to report to Academic Council on a yearly basis; provide avenues to encourage interaction and the exchange of ideas between faculty; and provide opportunities for faculty to gather together with the support of the Teaching and Learning Centre to explore online and hybrid learning. The Executive Committee thanked Mark Green and the members of the committee for their commitment to this project.